Workin’ Hard for/with the Green Stuff

Progress on the range hood and the master closet temporarily stalled because we were waiting for our new awesome DIY tool to arrive: The Sand & Kleen Dustless Drywall Sanding System (and because we both had to travel to different places out of state for our jobs this past week. Jobs = money –> happy new tools).  Yay tools!

IMG_3170-1

Here’s a link to it on Amazon if you are interested in checking it out for yourselves.  Now that the S & K has been added to our arsenal, expect a closet and hood post next week where we test it out in various capacities.

In the meanwhile,  I’ve been doing a part-time gig clearing my parents’ yard and laying sod.  My dad started the project but was called out of state for work before he could get much done (my family members are planes passing in the air apparently), so I picked up where he left off.  Hot, sweaty, dirty work, let me tell you, but my mom compensated me for my time and brought me Chipotle for lunch, so no complaints here.  My mom has a back injury right now, hence why I was called in to take over the sod job.  

I’m a sucker for yard work.  There’s something extremely satisfying about hard, manual labor, especially outside where you can see the fruits of your labor so easily (and quickly).  Plus, it is a great workout involving multiple muscle groups.  One of my neighbors and I recently had a conversation about how we procrastinate from our respective writing work by doing yard work. This conversation obviously occurred while we were both outside not writing. Go figure.  I’ve even started mowing our lawn, leaving just the weed eating to Chris, which is probably good since he’s allergic to grass, and I’m allergic to weeds.

Here’s my best tip for sod laying, courtesy of my mom’s next door neighbor, who worked on a golf course for a number of years and is quite familiar with groundskeeping and sod maintenance:  Use a machete to cut the sod into pieces to fit your yard.  It makes a nice, clean cut, and it’s a great way to take out frustration without being destructive.  My dad has a machete somewhere in his pile o’ tools, but my mom’s neighbor offered me his readily accessible and super sharp machete to use.  So much better than other methods! Sorry, no pictures of me wielding the machete. Sod laying may not be the easiest job, but getting to attack grass with a machete definitely increased the fun factor, which was pretty much zero pre-machete.

Best part? I got to buy a new planter I had been eying at Lowe’s, some purple mums (I like the purple and white ones best) and a new pair of shoes with the money I pocketed for a half-day of some hard but rewarding work.  Good times.  By the time I got back from Lowe’s it was dark, so no pics of the planter and plants.  They will feature in an upcoming (and long overdue) post about the major overhaul of the yards we have undertaken (and is still ongoing) along with some fall updates for the casa, so stay tuned. Happy Friday, everyone!

One thought on “Workin’ Hard for/with the Green Stuff

Leave a Reply

